Back

01

Mar 2017

  • News and Press

Private banking in Switzerland: return to better fortune?

Article written by Jean Bonnefoy – Partner – Périclès Group Suisse

Private banking in Switzerland has long enjoyed envied success, but is now faced with challenges in a difficult context.

The automatic exchange of information implemented  as of 2017 de facto leads in the end of banking secrecy for the vast majority of foreign residents and therefore the end of a major competitive advantage for financial institutions vis-à-vis international competition.

Other factors contribute to teh difficulties, such as the SNB’s negative interest rate policy (reducing the return on equity), the strength of the Swiss franc decreasing foreign currency earnings, ever increasing costs of compliance and risk monitoring, the limited access to customer markets such as the European Union, and the loss of assets following tax regularization of non-resident customers.

Swiss Private Banking, however, has undeniable strengths linked to the country’s political stability, know-how in wealth management, investment capabilities in a large number of asset classes, a true culture of confidentiality and service, and a significant market share (25% of cross-borders assets in the world are managed in Switzerland).

Frontiers are shifting and some of the actors in asset management (banks, securities dealers and indépendant asset managers) have to question their strategy, and in particular: what markets are served? How to improve customer relations? How to manage change?

  • Above all, they need to concentrate on customer markets they master perfectly well. It is a question of economic efficiency but also of managing risk. The process has started (asset deals, closure of relationships).
    An important aspect (at least for developed markets) is the tax rules for each customer, depending on its fiscal residence, which is already taken into account to produce tax declarations but not yet fully integrated in the asset management process.

 

  • Moreover up most importance should be paid to customer relations, with a better understanding of the “customer experience”. This dimension has long been neglected, the acquisition and retention of clients being facilitated by banking secrecy. This must now be a priority, even though the complexity of the services rendered and the international nature of the clientele requires intense work.
    The objectives are to define the offer by client segment, set up coherent communication channels and appropriate distribution channels, and overall improve the relevance of the clients information. Digitization of processes allows to rethink the partnership between the client, the asset manager and the associated expert partners (i.e. layers, M&A advisors, tax advisors, family offices).
    Many Fintech companies offer innovative functional bricks in this area which must nevertheless be integrated into an orderly and coherent picture.

 

  • So that this client-centric setup does not remain incantatory,  the internal culture has to adapt and,  in particular,  its relation to Change. Again, banking secrecy and its comfortable margins have not helped to develop robust forces in this area in the past and it is clear that mastering Change is a recurring weakness. Change should mobilize the best resources and the top of organizations because defining and especially implementing new business models are fundamental.

All these elements are key and their implementation by  the Swiss players, combined with the financial center’s strenght, will defend Switzerland’s position as a leader in international private banking.

Share this article :

Other news

This field is invalid

Send

Retour

01

Mar 2017

  • Articles et presse

La Gestion privée en Suisse : retour à meilleure fortune ?

Article rédigé par Jean Bonnefoy – Associé – Périclès Group Suisse

La gestion privée en Suisse a longtemps connu un succès envié, mais est dorénavant face à des défis, dans un contexte difficile.

L’Echange Automatique de Renseignements en vigueur dès 2017 entraîne de facto la fin du secret bancaire pour la grande majorité des clients non-résidents fiscaux et donc la fin d’un avantage compétitif majeur pour les établissements financiers du secteur vis-à-vis de la concurrence internationale.

D’autres facteurs contribuent aux difficultés, tels que la politique de taux négatifs de la BNS (réduisant la rentabilité des fonds propres), la force du franc suisse diminuant les revenus perçus en devises étrangères, l’accroissement des charges liées à la compliance et au suivi des risques, l’accès limité aux marchés clients comme par exemple le marché européen, la perte d’actifs consécutive à la régularisation fiscale des clients non-résidents.

La gestion privée en Suisse possède néanmoins des atouts indéniables liés à la stabilité politique du pays, aux savoir-faire dans la gestion patrimoniale, aux capacités d’investissement dans un grand nombre de classes d’actifs, à une vraie culture de la confidentialité et du service, et à une part de marché importante (25% des actifs sous gestion transfrontalière dans le monde sont gérés en Suisse).

Les lignes bougent et une partie des acteurs de la gestion de fortune (banques, négociants en valeurs mobilières et tiers-gérants) doivent questionner drastiquement leur stratégie, et en particulier : quels sont les marchés servis ? Comment améliorer la relation client ? Comment gérer le changement ?

  • Il leur faut avant tout se concentrer sur des marchés clients qu’ils connaissent parfaitement. C’est une question d’efficacité économique mais aussi de gestion du risque. Le processus est entamé (cessions de clientèle, fermeture de relations) mais pas abouti.
    Un aspect important à maîtriser (en tout cas pour les marchés développés) est la fiscalité du pays de résidence des clients, qui est prise en compte pour produire les déclaratifs fiscaux mais qui n’est pas encore parfaitement intégrée dans la gestion.

 

  • Par ailleurs, la relation client doit être au cœur des préoccupations, en valorisant mieux l’expérience client. Cette dimension a longtemps été négligée, l’acquisition et la rétention de clients étant facilitées par le secret bancaire. Cela doit être maintenant une priorité, même si la complexité des services rendus et la nature internationale de la clientèle nécessitent un travail intense.
    Les objectifs sont de définir l’offre par segment et les parcours clients, de mettre en place les canaux de communication cohérents et les canaux de distribution adaptés, et globalement d’améliorer la pertinence de l’information échangée. La digitalisation des processus permet de repenser la collaboration entre le client, le gestionnaire de fortune et les partenaires experts associés. De nombreuses Fintechs proposent dans ce domaine des briques fonctionnelles novatrices qui doivent être néanmoins intégrées dans un tout ordonné.

 

  • Pour que cette volonté de centrer les organisations sur le client ne soit pas juste incantatoire, il faut aussi faire évoluer la culture interne et en particulier le rapport au changement. Là aussi, le secret bancaire et les marges confortables du passé n’ont pas contribué à développer des forces robustes dans ce domaine et il est évident que la maîtrise du changement est une difficulté récurrente. Le changement devrait mobiliser les meilleures ressources et le sommet des organisations car définir et surtout mettre en œuvre les nouveaux modèles opérationnels sont fondamentaux.

 

Les éléments évoqués sont clés et leur prise en compte de manière cohérente et rigoureuse par les acteurs suisses, associée aux atouts de la place, renforcera le positionnement de leader de la Suisse dans la gestion privée internationale.

Partagez cet article :

Pour partager cette fiche, entrez une adresse mail valide :

Envoyer